The home of Sarah Evans & James Timpson

James Timpson

Hi, my name is James Timpson and I’m a husband and father who lives and works in Hertfordshire (just outside of London).

I was born and bred in the big city and grew up convinced that I’d never leave, but when I met my country-girl wife that all seemed to change. After seeing what was waiting beyond zone nine I soon realised that city life wasn’t all it’s hyped up to be. After a few years to mull over my options I decided to leave my corporate job behind and venture out into nature.

When we moved to the countryside everything changed for the better and I soon discovered a love for the simple life. Gardening, yoga and fishing are now important parts of my daily routine – although I’m still never far from an Internet connection!

I currently work remotely in a little freestanding office at the end of the garden. There’s nothing like being your own boss, making your own schedule, and building your own opportunities. While I venture into the capital on occasions, I try my best to stay away. After admiring the countryside the last thing I want is the hustle and bustle of the city.

As for my social life I’m a member of the village football club and on weekends you’ll almost always find me recovering from training with a cold pint of lager in my local. My wife an I both attend yoga classes every Tuesday and Thursday and try to squeeze in a few stretches every night before bed. This helps me to remain focused, motivated and, most importantly, happy.

I hope you enjoy reading our blog. We’re always happy to hear from readers, so feel free to drop us a line if you fancy a chat.


Sarah Evans

Hello readers,

My name is Sarah Evans and welcome to my blog! My husband James and I originally started this website for our family and friends so they could keep up-to-date with our exploits after we moved from London, but it’s since developed into our own personal journal. But anyway, a little about myself…

Unlike my husband I’m a country girl through and though. I grew up around nature and have a deep appreciation of wildlife and frugal living. When I was in my early twenties I moved to London, but after a decade living and working, I felt ready to get back to my roots. I managed to convince James to come along with me, so we packed our bags and bought a nice little cottage in the Hertfordshire countryside.

We’ve been living here now for a few years and everything is going great. While I miss London’s liveliness on occasions, I wouldn’t change it for the world. The freedom is simply too rewarding.

At present I’m currently unemployed. While James works in his office I can generally be found taking care of our little one year old. I am, however, hoping to get back to work fairly soon – sort of! – and will be starting my own online business. But for now, I’m just enjoying a nice break – if you can call it that!

In my spare time I enjoy reading, writing, yoga and playing with our cat. One day I hope to follow my dream of becoming an author and write a bestselling crime novel – but perhaps that can wait until I’m a little older. Yoga is also a big part of my life and a hobby I’ve had since my mid-teens.

I love to hear from fellow bloggers, yogis and readers, so please don’t hesitate to get in touch and introduce yourself!